Minimum Wage is Changing in 2018

In 2018, minimum wage will go up in 18 states and 20 cities and counties around the country. With federal minimum wage hovering at just $7.25 per hour since 2009, more and more states have opted to implement a higher living wage that local employers must abide by. Don’t let these changes slip through the cracks! Be sure to check out the 2018 new minimums and update your employee pay accordingly.

Understanding Minimum Wage 

Minimum wage is the lowest amount of pay an employer is required to pay an hourly worker. The hourly minimum wage rate to be paid depends on the state in which the employee works and the type of job they are working at.

The federal minimum wage was enacted in the United States in 1938 as part of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). The FLSA sets the standard for minimum wages, the 40-hour work week, overtime, and created child labor standards.

Most states also have their own wage and hours laws which may be more or less generous to employees. In addition, local governments (cities and counties) often pass their own wage and hour laws, particularly minimum wage laws for employers doing business locally. It is important to remember that If more than one law applies, the employer must comply with the provision that is most favorable to employees. For example, the current federal minimum wage is $7.25. If your state minimum wage is $8 an hour, and your city requires employers to pay at least $9.25 an hour, the employee must be paid at least $9.25.

For more information on FLSA, see https://www.dol.gov/whd/flsa/

State By State Minimum Wage Changes

 

Find out which changes have taken place in your state, city, or county below. Click the down arrow for more information.

Alaska Minimum Wage Changes

State: $9.84 an hour

Arizona Minimum Wage Changes

State$10.50 an hour.  Flagstaff: $11 an hour

California Minimum Wage Changes

State$11 an hour for businesses with 26 or more employees; $10.50 an hour for businesses with 25 or fewer employees. Cupertino: $13.50 an hour.  El Cerrito: $13.60 an hour.  Los Altos:$13.50 an hour.  Milpitas: $12 an hour.  Mountain View: $15 an hour.  Oakland$13.23 an hour.  Palo Alto: $13.50 an hour.  Richmond: $13.41 an hour.  San Jose: $13.50 an hour.   San Mateo: $13.50 an hour for standard businesses; $12 an hour for nonprofits.  Santa Clara: $13 an hour.  Sunnyvale$15 an hour

Colorado Minimum Wage Changes

State$10.20 an hour 

Florida Minimum Wage Changes

State: $8.25 an hour

Hawaii Minimum Wage Changes

State: $10.10 an hour 

Maine Minimum Wage Changes

State: $10 an hour 

Michigan Minimum Wage Changes

State: $9.25 an hour

Minnesota Minimum Wage Changes

State: $9.65 an hour for businesses with annual gross revenue of $500,000 or more; $7.87 an hour for businesses with annual gross revenue of less than $500,000.  Minneapolis: $10 an hour for businesses with more than 100 employees

Missouri Minimum Wage Changes

State: $7.85 an hour 

Montana Minimum Wage Changes

State: $8.30 an hour

New Jersey Minimum Wage Changes

State: $8.60 an hour 

New Mexico Minimum Wage Changes

State: No Change.  Albuquerque$8.95 an hour.  Bernalillo County: $8.85 an hour

New York Minimum Wage Changes

State: $13 an hour for standard New York City businesses with 11 for more employees; $12 an hour for standard New York City businesses with 10 or fewer employees; $11 an hour for standard workers in Long Island and Westchester; $10.40 for standard workers in the rest of New York state; $13.50 for fast food workers in New York City; $11.75 for fast food workers in the rest of the state 

Ohio Minimum Wage Changes

State: $8.30 an hour 

Rhode Island Minimum Wage Changes

State: $10.10 an hour

South Dakota Minimum Wage Changes

State: $8.85 an hour 

Vermont Minimum Wage Changes

State: $10.50 an hour

Washington Minimum Wage Changes

State: $11.50 an hour.  Seatac: $15.64 an hour for hospitality and transportation employees.  Seattle: $15.45 an hour for businesses with 501 or more employees that don’t offer medical benefits; $15 an hour for businesses with 501 or more employees that do offer medical benefits; $14 an hour for businesses with 500 or fewer employees that don’t offer medical benefits; $11.50 an hour for businesses with 500 or fewer employees that do offer medical benefits.  Tacoma$12 an hour